Eel sauce (also known as unagi sauce, unagi no tare, or sushi sauce) usually contains some type of soy sauce, which contains wheat ingredients. In other words, it’s safe to assume that most eel sauce brands are not gluten free.
However, there is at least one exception! The products on this list are all gluten free eel sauce brands, and they are usually made with a gluten free soy sauce alternative.
Whether you are planning on seasoning vegetables, tofu, steak, chicken, or garnish some sushi, the eel sauce brands on this list are all gluten free. If they have any other certifications (like vegan, dairy-free, Kosher, and more), I’ll let you know in the description below!
For each gluten free sushi sauce brand, I’ll list some popular stores that carry them as well as link product locators so you can find the closest store to you. If you prefer to shop online, you can also find some online retailers in the “buy online” section for each brand.
Ingredients can change at any time, so be sure to always read the most updated label information, certifications, and allergen warnings before you buy any of the products on this list.
Gluten Free Fish Sauce Brands
When it comes to gluten-free unagi sauce, there seems to be only one good option at the moment. Otafuku Gluten Free Sushi Sauce is the perfect GF eel sauce alternative. This is a thick sauce that is gluten free, vegetarian, and does not contain MSG or high fructose corn syrup.
This product isn’t easy to find in stores, but you can easily order it online from Amazon or you can order it directly from the Otafuku Foods website!
Yamasa Gluten Free Soy Glaze
If you can find a retailer (either online or in-store) that sells this product, you should give Yamasa Gluten Free Soy Glaze a try as an eel sauce substitute! Yamasa is a well-known brand that makes high-quality products, but they recently rebranded and I am unable to find this product on their website. I found this eel sauce substitute from this retailer if you are interested.