Are Pita Chips Gluten Free?
Pita chips are made by baking pita bread until it is crispy. Because pita bread is usually made from wheat flour, most brands of pita chips are not gluten free.
There used to be two great brands of gluten-free pita chips, but unfortunately, one brand has been discontinued. Toufayan gluten free pita chips are not included on this list because they are no longer available, and the company has no plans on bringing them back.
But if you are still looking for gluten free pita chips, this list will contain all of the currently available brands plus some other alternatives you can try.
Ingredients are subject to change, so be sure to read the most updated label information before purchasing any of the products on this list.
Gluten Free Pita Chips Brands
Simple Mills Pita Crackers
Simple Mills Pita Crackers are the only GF pita chips still on the market, and they have three varieties to choose from: Mediterannean Herb, Himalayan Salt, and Roasted Red Pepper. They are all certified gluten-free, vegan, corn-free, and paleo!
You can find a store near you that carries Simple Mills Pita Crackers by using Simple Mills’ store locator. They are often found at stores like Whole Foods, Sprouts, Publix, Safeway, Kroger, The Fresh Market, and more! You can also order them online using the above retailers.
GF Pita Chips Alternatives
Sadly, even though there were only a couple of gluten-free pita chip brands available, one of the most popular brands (Toufayan Bakeries) discontinued their pita chips. If you can’t find the remaining GF pita chip brand above, here are some other alternatives for you:
- GF Crackers: Even though they are not labeled “pita chips,” many gluten free crackers brands have similar ingredients to Simple Mills pita chips. So don’t be afraid of using crackers as a replacement!
- Bake GF Pita Bread: Pita chips are just crispy baked pita bread. Instead of buying pita chips, you can always buy one of these gluten free pita bread brands and bake them yourself!