Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free?
Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat, so it is not usually gluten-free. However, there are many Gluten Free Soy Sauce Brands that you can buy!
When looking for a gluten free soy sauce, you’ll probably hear the word “tamari” a lot. Tamari is soy sauce that is made without wheat ingredients. Although there are subtle differences in flavor, they are almost indistinguishable, making Tamari a perfect gluten-free substitute!
Because tamari is usually made from only soybeans, it tastes richer than soy sauce because there is a higher concentration of soy (and not diluted with the wheat ingredients). However, some brands have both tamari and gluten free soy sauce products. The gluten free soy sauce products usually have other ingredients (like sugar or rice) to try and taste more like traditional soy sauce.
All of the soy sauce or tamari brands on this list are certified gluten free. This means they have been tested by a third party to ensure they are free from wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients!
Ingredients can always change, so be sure to read the most updated label information, allergen warnings, and product certifications before purchasing any of the products on this list.
Gluten-Free Soy Sauce Brands
San-J specializes in making gluten free tamari products. There are five different San-J gluten free soy sauces to choose from: Tamari, 28% Less Sodium, 50% Less Sodium, Organic Tamari, and Organic 25% Less Sodium! These products are all certified gluten free, vegan, Kosher, and Non-GMO.
You can buy San-J Tamari products at various grocery stores like Walmart, Safeway, Meijer, Albertsons, Sprouts, Whole Foods, The Fresh Market, and Publix. You can use their product locator to find the closest store to you that carries these tamari products. You can also buy these online with the links above!
Kikkoman makes two varieties of GF soy sauce: Gluten Free Soy Sauce (made from water, soybeans, rice, and salt) and Gluten Free Tamari (made from water, soybeans, salt, and sugar). Both of these products are certified gluten free and Kosher.
Kikkoman is one of the easiest soy sauce brands to find in stores because it is one of the most popular brands! Look for Kikkoman GF soy sauce and tamari in stores like Walmart, HEB, Kroger, Albertsons, Giant Food, Jewel, Stop and Shop, and more! You can also find these in Asian supermarkets. To find the closest store to you, use Kikkoman’s product locator!
Yamasa Organic Tamari
Buy Online: Amazon
Yamasa Organic Tamari is another great GF soy sauce option, and this product is certified gluten free, USDA organic, Kosher, and non-GMO.
You can find Yamasa soy sauces at various grocery stores, but these are harder to find than the other brands. You’ll have the most luck finding it at Asian supermarkets or online from stores like Amazon.
Lee Kum Kee Gluten Free Soy Sauce
Buy Online: Amazon
Lee Kum Kee makes many different varieties of Asian sauces, and they also make a gluten free soy sauce! This GF soy sauce is certified gluten free and vegan-friendly.
Lee Kum Kee is also a little harder to find than some brands on this list, but you can find it at 99 Ranch Market, other Asian supermarkets, and Walmart (varies by location). You can also buy this soy sauce online from Amazon!
Leave a Reply