Is Oyster Sauce Gluten-Free?
Oyster sauce is a condiment usually found in Asian-style dishes. You can add this umami-flavored sauce to stir-fries, Asian sauces, or proteins like meat and tofu. But because oyster sauce (like many Asian sauces) contains soy sauce or wheat ingredients, it is not always gluten-free.
Even though many store-bought oyster sauces contain wheat and gluten, there are definitely some easy-to-find Gluten Free Oyster Sauce Brands that you can pick up instead! This list contains the top brands that carry these products and where you can find them!
For each brand of GF Oyster Sauce, I’ll talk about a few highlights for each brand. First, I’ll let you know if the product is certified gluten-free or just labeled gluten-free by the company. Any product that is not made with gluten-containing ingredients can be labeled gluten-free, but a gluten-free certification means that the product has undergone testing to ensure no possibility of cross-contamination. Those with celiac disease should only use products that are certified gluten-free, whereas people avoiding gluten for other reasons can choose to eat non-certified products if they choose.
Finally, I’ll let you know where you can buy these oyster sauce brands! In addition to listing popular grocery stores that carry the brand, I’ll also link a product locator if available so you can find the closest store to you using your zip code. If you prefer to order groceries online, I’ll list some online retailers in the “Buy Online” section!
Product ingredients can change at any time. Be sure to check the label for the most recent claims, allergen warnings, and certifications before you buy.
Gluten-Free Oyster Sauce Brands
Kikkoman Gluten-Free Oyster Sauces
Kikkoman should be the first brand you look for when searching for a GF Oyster sauce! First, they have three varieties of certified gluten-free oyster sauces: Oyster Sauce Green Label (no MSG added), Oyster Sauce Blue Label, and Vegetarian Oyster Flavored Sauce. Second, it is one of the east brands to find in stores!
You can buy this product in many grocery stores, including Publix, Walmart, Smart & Final, Food City, Hy-Vee, Pick ‘n Save, HEB, Randalls, 99 Ranch Market, and more. For this brand, you can use their product locator to find these oyster sauces near you!
Lee Kum Kee Oyster Flavored Sauce
Buy Online: Amazon
Lee Kum Kee Oyster Flavored Sauce (Panda Brand Green Label) is next on the list! This product is certified gluten-free — the extra-large container carries the Beyond Celiac certification label. This brand also has a Lo Mein Oyster Flavored Sauce, which is also certified gluten-free, but this is a ready-made sauce that just needs to be added to noodles. Make sure to get the Green Label Oyster sauce because some Lee Kum Kee oyster sauces (like the red label) are not gluten-free.
You can find this brand of GF oyster sauce at Walmart and 99 Ranch Market. If you can’t find it at a store near you, you can order it on Amazon to have it delivered to your door!
Wok Mei All Natural Oyster Sauce
Buy Online: Amazon | HonestFoods.com
If you can’t find any of the above oyster sauce brands, see if you can find Wok Mei All Natural Oyster Sauce near you! The only downside to this brand is that it does not have a gluten-free certification. However, the brand does its own testing and labels this product gluten-free. You can learn more about their gluten testing here.
Look for Wok Mei Oyster Sauce at Whole Foods Market, Eli’s Manhattan, or Rainbow Grocery. If you don’t have these stores near you, you can have it shipped to you from Amazon (although it is not eligible for Prime shipping) or Honest Foods.
✳️ You Might Also Like:
Leave a Reply