Is Hoisin Sauce Gluten-Free?
Hoisin sauce is a dark, thick sauce commonly used in Asian cuisine for stir-fries, dipping sauces, marinades, and meat glazes. Although the main ingredient in hoisin is usually fermented soybeans, like with most store-bought sauces, any brand might contain wheat ingredients.
For those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities, this list will help you find some gluten-free hoisin sauce brands!
Because brands can sometimes sneak in gluten-containing ingredients, this list of gluten-free hoisin sauce only lists brands that are certified gluten-free. You can be confident that all certified gluten-free brands are safe to eat because there is no possibility of cross-contamination.
To find the best brand of gluten-free hoisin for you, skim through the certified gluten-free brands below. In the descriptions, you can see where to purchase them (both online and in stores). You can also find other important details about the brand, like if it is vegan-friendly, organic, or non-GMO.
Product ingredients can change at any time. Before you buy, make sure to check the most recent product certifications and look for any allergen warnings on the label.
Notes on some popular brands:
- Dynasty hoisin sauce is a popular hoisin sauce brand, but it is not certified gluten-free. It does not contain any wheat ingredients, but it is processed in the same facility as other gluten-containing products. So, the company cannot guarantee that it is gluten-free.
- Kroger Hoisin Sauce is gluten-free (according to their website), but it is not certified gluten-free. Those with celiac disease should avoid this, but it might be fine for those with gluten sensitivities or avoiding gluten for other reasons.
Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce Brands
Kikkoman Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce
Buy Online: Amazon
Kikkoman is one of the most popular brands of Asian sauces, and you can find their products at almost any grocery store. There are two different Kikkoman hoisin sauce — one is gluten-free, and the other one is not. Make sure the bottle says “Kikkoman Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce,” and you’re good to go! Here is a list of all Kikkoman gluten-free products.
You can find Kikkoman GF Hoisin sauce at almost all general grocery stores, including Walmart, Kroger, Hy-vee, Albertsons, Publix, and more! You can use their product locator to find the closest store to you!
Lee Kum Kee Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce
There are many varieties of Lee Kum Kee hoisin sauce: original, garlic, lemongrass chili, lime-cilantro, and more. But only one of these is gluten-free. It is clearly labeled — just look for the one that says Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce!
Lee Kum Kee products can be found at some grocery stores, but it’s a little harder to find than brands like Kikkoman. You will probably be able to find this product at Walmart (varies by location) or 99 Ranch Market. If you can’t find this product at either location, check to see if it is on Amazon!
San-J Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce
San-J hoisin sauce is gluten-free, like most of their products! It is also FODMAP friendly, Kosher, and non-GMO. Because many of their other products are naturally gluten-free, there is no other San-J hoisin sauce that contains gluten, but always make sure it has the “GF” symbol on it just in case.
You can find this gluten free hoisin sauce at Whole Foods and other stores like Walmart, Vons, Hannaford, Albertsons, and more! If you have a Whole Foods near you, you can also have it shipped to you with Amazon Prime Whole Foods delivery!
Premier Japan Organic Gluten Free Hoisin
Buy Online: Amazon
No matter what kind of hoisin sauce you are looking for, Premier Japan has it all. Premier Japan makes an Organic Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce that is also vegan!
Premier Japan Hoisin Sauce is sold at many grocery stores, although the selection may vary by location. You can find this hoisin sauce at select stores like Whole Foods Market, Walmart, Wegmans, Kroger, Foodtown, 99 Ranch Market, and more! If you can’t find it at any stores near you, you can always purchase it on Amazon.
✅ You Might Like: