Is Fish Sauce Gluten Free?
Fish sauce should be naturally gluten free, but some brands sneak in some gluten-containing ingredients. If you want to be sure that you are choosing a gluten free fish sauce brand, check the list below before you buy.
Fish sauce is simply fermented fish, which should only include the following ingredients: fish (usually anchovies or krill), salt, and water. Some brands might include other ingredients like sugar, but in general, the ingredients list should be pretty short.
Because fish sauce is usually naturally gluten free, many brands don’t seek third party gluten free certifications. Instead, the brand makes a gluten free claim on the bottle or on their website, which I will direct you to in the descriptions below each brand!
This list includes only the best gluten free fish sauce brands. These are the ones you can usually find at most grocery stores and the ones that have an official website which discusses how they know their product is gluten free. Other brands are listed at the end that did not meet this criteria, but you may wish to purchase them anyway.
Ingredients are subject to change, so be sure to read the most updated label information before purchasing any of the products on this list.
Gluten Free Fish Sauce Brands
Made with only anchovies and sea salt, Red Boat Fish sauce is one of the most popular fish sauce brands, and it’s gluten free! It is Whole 30 approved, and you can see on Red Boat’s FAQ page that it is declared gluten free and produced in a gluten-free facility. Find this GF fish sauce at many stores like Walmart, Safeway, Kroger, HEB, and more!
Thai Kitchen Fish Sauce is one of the easiest brands of fish sauce to find, as it’s sold at most major grocery stores! It’s labeled gluten free on the bottle and on Thai Kitchen’s website. To find the closest store to you that carries this product, click on “where to buy” on the previous link, and you will be taken to their product locator.
A Taste of Thai Fish Sauce
Buy Online: Amazon
If you can’t find any of the other brands on this list, check out A Taste of Thai Fish Sauce! This fish sauce brand is labeled gluten free on the bottle and on their FAQ page! You can use their product locator to find the closest store to you, which includes Walmart, Shaw’s, Randall’s, Ingles, Jewel-Osco, Kroger, and more!
Ocean’s Halo Vegan Fish Sauce
Buy Online: Amazon | Ocean’s Halo
If you are looking for a gluten free vegan fish sauce or vegetarian fish sauce, check out Ocean’s Halo fish sauce! It is USDA organic, gluten-free, vegan-friendly, and soy-free. You can find it at Whole Foods, Walmart, Safeway, Kroger, and more using their store locator!
Notes on Other Fish Sauce Brands
- Three Crabs Brand Fish Sauce should not be assumed gluten free because it contains hydrolyzed vegetable protein. This ingredient is sometimes not gluten free because it can be made with gluten containing grains.
- The following brands have gluten free ingredients, but at the time of writing this post, they are not labeled gluten free nor do they have a reliable website that claims they are gluten free:
- Dynasty Fish Sauce
- Lucky Brand Fish Sauce
- Squid Brand Fish Sauce
Leave a Reply